Bentos for June

Hello! 🙂 I realised that I haven’t do a post on June’s bento and it’s already mid-July! *shrieks!!!!* And in a few days time, I’ll be back in Y-chan’s hometown for holidays. 😀

(If you are interested in May’s bento.)

june_1 june_2 june_3 june_4 june_5

I’m asked by friends on how I managed to whip up the bento every morning. Like do I wake up at unearthly hour to prepare? The answer is No. 😉

For the side dishes, I’ve mentioned in May’s post that I’ll cook a batch of them and store them in clean air-tight containers. It can last for about 2-3 days so once it’s emptied, I’ll cook additional side dishes. 😀

For the main, I’ll marinate the meat in small ziplock bag the night before and just sauté it in the morning. (Simple and time-saving!) Or sometimes, I’ll cook extra for dinner and save a portion for bento use. (More time-saving!!) 🙂

Some tips on hygiene practices in bento packing.

  • Always allow your food to cool down before covering the lid.
  • Hard-boiled eggs – It’s advisable to cook your eggs well if you’re in hot climates (summer or Singapore) because bacteria contamination might just happen without you knowing. (I was questioned by Y-chan when I placed runny egg yolk in his bento. 😐 )
  • Adding Umeboshi (pickled plum) in your bento – It acts as an edible antibacterial for your bento and aids in digestion. (That’s why bentos are always packed with an umeboshi! 😉 )

I hope these tips are helpful to you.

July’s bento post will be a short one since we’ll be away for 1 whole week. 😀 I promise to do the savory version of tamagoyaki when I’m back! Till then! ♥♥

3 thoughts on “Bentos for June

Leave a Reply

