A short update of…

my wedding preparations. ๐Ÿ™‚

Well well well…… I wanted to write this right after I came back from Yamaguchi, but I procrastinated it till today. *sends guilty look* ๐Ÿ˜

So few weeks ago, we went back to Yamaguchi for a short 4 days stay. Or 3 days to be exact because we arrived at Yamaguchi in the evening which felt like a day was wasted. We are using the air transport more frequently as it’s cost saving. The tickets we paid was about 40,000yen (for 2 pax) compared to bullet train fares which will cost double the price.

Why we went back Yamaguchi???

  1. Y-chan to attend his friend’s wedding
  2. Our wedding preparations
  3. Visit grandma.

While Y-chan went to attend his friend’s wedding, I went on a date with his sister (with allowance given by grandma). ๐Ÿ˜€

And then we exhausted the whole of the following day for our wedding preparations. The day started off with the confirmation of wedding gowns, accessories and meeting with the hair & makeup artist.

Many many months back, I had somehow confirmed on what I wanted to wear for the big day. But I think the ‘feelings’ changed after browsing through Pinterest. ๐Ÿ˜€ I fell in love with wedding gowns that has shoulder straps. (refers below โ†“ โ™ฅ) Soooooo pretty can!! ๐Ÿ˜€

shoulder strap with details

Another reason is because the straps can help to ‘hide’ my flabby arms. :O

So I checked with the staff on the availability of this type of gown assuming that it wouldn’t be popular with the Japanese. To my surprise, there’s 2 pieces available in their collection. Went to try on both gowns without hesitation. ๐Ÿ˜€ย And finally, finally able to confirm on the wedding gown.ย 

Then we went to another room to try on the uchikake (traditional Japanese wedding gown). I wanted something red, so the staff lay out all the red uchikake for me to try on. ๐Ÿ˜€ So the below is just an example of how it looks like on me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mosaic my face & Y-chan’s because we looked so tired. LOL

Then I tried on black uchikake to see how it looks like on me. Super love the detailed embroideries!! From cranes to plum blossoms to sakura to dahlia to I-don’t-know-what-other flowers is embroidered on it.ย 

Then Y-chan went to try on his montsuki (็ด‹ไป˜) and we took a 2-shot of how we will look like when stand together.

Oh man, how I wished I could SNIP OFF his flabby chin. (T_T)These are just some of the uchikake I’ve tried on. The one I’ve decided on will be revealed on my wedding day. ๐Ÿ˜€

After all these fitting, we ended the 1st half of the discussion and went for lunch before the 2nd half starts. Had a simple lunch at some family restaurant and started the 2nd half of the discussion at the hotel.

The bridal planner guided us through the whole discussion and then we had talks with the photographer. We are planning to take our pre-wedding shots with sakura! And I’m really praying for the weather in February & March to warm up soon so that it will ‘wake up’ theย sleeping sakura buds. ๐Ÿ™‚ (Friends/Readers, please help me pray for the sakuras in Yamaguchi to bloom by end-March!)

I think that’s all we’ve discussed during the visit and we’ll be going back next weekend for food tasting and collection of the wedding invitations. ๐Ÿ˜€

By the way, today is the eve of the Lunar Calendar and tomorrow’s Chinese New Year (CNY). My family and friends are having (or already had) their reunion lunch/dinner while I’m in Saitama watching tv. *sighs* So thankful that my parents sent a pack of bak kwa (barbecued pork slices) and packs of hae bee hiam (prawn rolls) for me to munch on. The food I missed much would be my dad’s braised duck meat. :O

Okay, enough of my whining.

Let me wish you all a Happy CNY! Gong Xi Fa Cai | Wan Shi Ru Yi | Ma Shang Fa Da Cai ($$$$$$$) | HUAT AH!

6 thoughts on “A short update of…

  1. Pingback: Wedding Preparation: 50% completed | Nonbirichan.

Leave a Reply

